Certified Family Support Worker (CFPSW)

The Certified Family Support Worker (CFPSW) supports parents and other primary caregivers to ensure their voice is heard and their natural support systems are strengthened. Through working with the CFPSW, caregivers increase their skills and confidence to effectively attain their goals and empower their families to navigate child-serving systems with more independence. The CFPSW serves as a role model; demonstrating effective advocacy skills, and building professional relationships. At times, CFPSWs share their own experience to establish a bond on similar experiences. The Family Peer Support Worker uses a strengths-based and culturally sensitive approach that is family-driven, and child-centered and considers cultural history, religion, life experiences, beliefs, and preferences.

Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS)

The CPS is an individual that helps communities and individuals prevent issues in public health using various domains. Prevention specialists proactively intervene to prevent, delay the onset of, or reduce the severity of many common public health concerns and other societal issues. CPSs may focus their practice in a variety of areas including substance abuse, behavioral health, violence, bullying, crime, and illness. They have supervised work experience providing substance abuse prevention services and have been engaged in working directly in the field of prevention. Child welfare, mental health, behavioral health, infectious diseases, or substance abuse are examples of acceptable areas.

Certified Peer Support Worker (CPSW)

The Certified Peer Support Worker (CPSW) training program prepares individuals who are successfully engaged in long-term recovery with mental health and/or substance use conditions and maintaining their mental wellness to help others in their recovery process. Because of their own recovery experiences, CPSWS are uniquely qualified to enhance services delivered by provider agencies and other organizations. New Mexico CPSWs are currently employed in provider settings, peer-run wellness centers, and Managed Care Organizations. Peer support is “a system of giving and receiving help founded on key principles of respect, shared responsibility, and mutual agreement of what is helpful.” (Mead 2001). Peer support services are programs, groups, events, and discussions within the behavioral health system led by people in recovery, based on the philosophy of peer support.

Certified Prevention Intern (CPI)

The Certified Prevention Intern credential is an entry-level certification, and there is no exam required for this credential. The basic requirement for certification is the performance of prevention skills and academic achievement. This credential recognizes prevention specialist interns who are entering the field of prevention with the minimum requirements. The CPI is viewed as an entry-level specialist in the area of prevention and is able to provide prevention services with supervision, to the degree allowed by applicable laws, statutes and regulations. Please note that the Intern status is only valid for a period of five years. Individuals are expected to pass the international IC&RC Written Prevention Exam and apply for the full CPS credential within that time frame.

Certified Wraparound Facilitator (CWF)

A CWF is a person who assists children and youth deemed appropriate for Wraparound in New Mexico by supporting the services and systems a youth and family already have in place and helping to identify new ones that may be needed. They provide intensive care coordination to assist youth who may have a SED diagnosis, a history of unsuccessful multiple placements, Juvenile Justice & Protective Service involvement, and are at risk of or in an out-of-home placement. CWFs work with youth and families to make their existing services more effective and engage them when previous services and interventions were unsuccessful.

Certified Clinical Supervisor (CS)

The Clinical Supervisor directs and manages an effective clinical service delivery team using applicable principles of Social Work and/or Counseling which may include patient psychosocial assessment, group and individual psychotherapy, family intervention, patient/family education, and treatment planning. The Clinical Supervisor is one of the fastest-growing credentials in the field of addiction-related behavioral health care, as substance abuse and behavioral disorder counselors are some of the fastest-growing professions. As more and more new counselors enter the field, the need for competent, trained, and ethical Clinical Supervisors has grown significantly. 

Senior Certified Prevention Specialist (SCPS)

The Senior Certified Prevention Specialist meets all of the requirements of the CPS, with the basis of their work ensuring that programs and their funders are delivering on their mission of ensuring public safety and well-being. The SCPS credential requires Prevention Specialists to demonstrate competency through experience, education, supervision, and the passing of a rigorous examination. Competence includes a synthesis of education and experience combined with an understanding of the cultures within which prevention application occurs. The maintenance of competence requires continual learning and professional improvement throughout one’s career.

Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC)

Alcohol and drug counselors provide therapy and counseling to people who experience addiction as well as other related behavioral problems. They provide treatment and support to help the client recover from addiction or to change problematic behaviors. CDACs provide counsel and support to patients, educate families in the best ways to help in the recovery process, and work with both inpatient clients and those participating in outpatient programs.